National Infertility Awareness Week

A year ago, I had no idea NIAW existed. I wish that it didn’t need to exist. For me or anyone else.

But it does. I was really on the fence about posting anything on Facebook about it. I want people to realize that getting pregnant isn’t easy for everyone, and also to not take it for granted. But at the same time, M is more of a private person than I am, so I didn’t want to expose our issues. I feel like there is such a negative stigma that comes along with infertility. I don’t want pity, I want awareness and sensitivity.

NIAW has a great website with great resources. Check it out if you haven’t already: http://www.resolve.org/national-infertility-awareness-week/home-page.html

I wish I was a little more brave and did post something- maybe in time I will be. I wish I could share Infertility Etiquette with friends and family.

I think others really don’t get it unless they have been there themselves. I want support and understanding, but I wouldn’t wish infertility on anyone.

Leave a Reply

